Ditch 10 friends, get a Whopper

by thoughtfulconservative

Got ten friends on Facebook you wouldn’t mind getting rid of? Burger King will give you a Whopper if you do. If you drop 10 friends, and you’d probably have to do this after getting one of those ubiquitous Facebook apps first, you will receive a coupon for a free Whopper. As a bonus the 10 friends you drop will receive a notification that they have been sacrificed for a sandwich.

“It’s all meant as tongue-in-cheek,” said Tia Lang, director of media and interactive for Burger King. “I mean, if I had 300 friends, there are probably 10 or so people I’m not so close with. But overwhelmingly, we see people getting the joke.”

Unless you were one of the 198,850 unwitting victims tossed into the flame-broiled abyss as of Monday evening. As I was.

Well done, Burger King. You have simultaneously crushed my ego and valued the worth of my friendship, nay, ex-friendship, as one-tenth the cost of a Whopper.

So have you wanted an excuse to clean out some dead wood among your friends on Facebook? Here’s your chance. And you’d get something in return.

Maybe I ought to make friends with all those lefties on Facebook after all.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One Comment to “Ditch 10 friends, get a Whopper”

  1. If any of my Facebook friends dumped me for a Whopper, I’d be crushed.

    😛

Leave a Reply

