Kennedy’s assassination 11/22/63

by thoughtfulconservative

Forty-five years ago today, John F. Kennedy was assassinated.

Here’s the front page from the NY Times. I used to have a copy of the local paper from my home town. Or maybe my sister has it. Here’s the article from that day.

I was in 6th grade at the time. We had just finished lunch. Another teacher came in crying and one of my buddies whispered, “I bet the president’s been shot.” The TV was turned on and sure enough that’s what had happened.

We had no more classes that day. We watched the news coverage till school ended in a couple of hours. He was killed on a Friday. There were only three networks back then so it was watch the coverage or don’t watch TV at all.

I remember the funeral, the riderless horse, the caisson, John, Jr. saluting. I don’t remember watching the actual event of Lee Harvey Oswald being gunned down by Jack Ruby, although I’ve seen it many times since. Maybe I was at church.

Since then we’ve learned a lot about the Kennedy years–the mistresses, the behind-the-scenes activities, and more. But back then he was a young president gunned down for no apparent reason.

Prof. John McAdams of Marquette University, who also writes the Marquette Warrior blog, has an extensively linked site to explore The Kennedy Assassination with an index and search page . I highly recommend it. Wikipedia’s articles are also recommended.

Here’s what I wrote three years ago.

I look at the Kennedy Assassination like instant replay in football. The call was made with the Warren Commission. It was looked at again by the House Select Committee on Assassinations who found evidence of a conspiracy but elimated all the popular conspirators. They couldn’t identify anyone in the conspiracy. That to me is inconclusive evidence that would not overturn a pro football call and does not overturn the original conclusion for me.

Others have different opinions and this is one conspiracy that will never be settled. Most of those involved have passed on.

You may not know that C. S. Lewis and Aldous Huxley died on the same day.

Leave a Reply

