Pray?

by thoughtfulconservative

NOTE: I’m keeping this at the top until after the election. Look below this post for more recent ones.

Our pastor at church Sunday asked who was nervous about the outcome of Tuesday’s election. Quite a few raised their hands.

Now I may be nervous, but I’m not concerned.

You see whether Obama, McCain, Barr, Nader or whoever wins the presidency, I believe whatever happens is God’s will.

Why?

Because I believe what the Bible says.

OK, the scoffing can now commence.

For those interested here are a couple of relevant passages,

Daniel 2 verses 20 and 21
“Praise be to the name of God for ever and ever;
wisdom and power are his.

21 He changes times and seasons;
he sets up kings and deposes them.
He gives wisdom to the wise
and knowledge to the discerning.

John 19 verses10 and 11;
10 “Do you refuse to speak to me?” Pilate said. “Don’t you realize I have power either to free you or to crucify you?”

11 Jesus answered, “You would have no power over me if it were not given to you from above. Therefore the one who handed me over to you is guilty of a greater sin.” [emphasis mine on both passages]

This brings me to a post I read last week. Daniel at Unreasonable Faith posted on the secret to a McCain landslide victory. Daniel describes himself as a “former Christian.” He says,

I no longer believe in a personal God or that Jesus was born of a virgin, worked miracles, and rose from the dead. I don’t believe in heaven or hell, angels or demons, holy books or prophecy. I don’t believe the earth was created 6,000 years ago, or that God intelligently designed every species.

So in his post Daniel links and quotes a paragraph,

Pssst. McCain supporters. Here’s the secret to winning the election: stay home for the next few weeks praying nonstop. Especially when the polls open up in November, you must stay on your knees calling on your god the entire day. Otherwise, the witches will get us.

To which Daniel adds,

I wholeheartedly agree. God is all powerful and wants his man McCain to win. So stay home and pray — God knows what he’s doing and will take care of all of it. But he needs your prayer and support if you want God to do his stuff on this election. The Bible says “the prayers of a righteous man avails much,” and you know you’re righteous, so pray hard and stay home!

Humorous.

Anyway, I really doubt God cares one way or another if McCain or Obama wins, so praying for a McCain victory or an Obama victory, will be answered, or not, according to God’s plan.

Secondly, if Christians spent the day in prayer, Daniel and his friends might not like the end result. Spending the day in prayer would be more beneficial in taqking this country the direction the social conservatives want to take it than all the election GOTV efforts.

But Daniel need not fear something like this happening. The Church doesn’t really believe in prayer (and I include myself in that term) or else they would quit looking to the Republicans (or Democrats, or any other party) for the answers and start looking to God.

Now I’m not advocating not voting, or not working for a dampaign, or running for office. What you do is between you and your divinity. After all, I blog.

I’m just saying what do you think does more good?

10 Responses to “Pray?”

  1. Thanks and God Bless. Pray that a moral and ethical person will lead this country.

  2. And that is why I read you. I know these things, but am derelict in my Bible responsibilities and could never find the right support.

    I’ve upped the prayer time in the last couple of weeks. I’m much more content, whatever the outcome.

  3. If by “scoff” you mean scoff yo knees and start prayin, I’m in !!! (I”ll go ahead and confirm the Lady’s arrows are up and away)

  4. Thanks, y’all. As I said, I’m not as faithful as I should be, either, but we all do our best.

    Daniel, we have to be able to laugh at ourselves.

  5. With all due respect, the phrase, “whatever happens is God’s will”, is Islamic predeterminism. God gives us free will so that we can be truly creations in the image of God. Free will can lead us anywhere in God’s creation. God loves us, but he does not control us. It is this gift of love that is both the pain and promise of life.

  6. Well, Mark, you’ll have to explain all those verses that talk about the sovereignty of God.

    But we should never forget the old adage, not Scripture so don’t search, “Pray as if everything depended on God, work as if everything depended on you.”

  7. Sovereignty is a claim of authority which is true. The creator has a claim of authority over the creation. Creating an object that is merely moved around by the will of God does not create an image of God. Guidance, as you reference above, is not the same as uncontestable obedience. Free will is what raises us above objects.

  8. So, Mark, how do you read those verses I quoted above?

    Free will and God’s foreknowlegde/predestination have always had a tension throughout the Bible. Forgive me if my term for expressing it did not meet your standard.

    If God is not in control, why worship Him?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

