I thought we already were in one

by thoughtfulconservative

Bernanke: Approve bailout or risk recession.

“I believe if the credit markets are not functioning, that jobs will be lost, that our credit rate will rise, more houses will be foreclosed upon, GDP will contract, that the economy will just not be able to recover in a normal, healthy way.”

The president said something similar last night,

The government’s top economic experts warn that without immediate action by Congress, America could slip into a financial panic, and a distressing scenario would unfold:

More banks could fail, including some in your community. The stock market would drop even more, which would reduce the value of your retirement account. The value of your home could plummet. Foreclosures would rise dramatically. And if you own a business or a farm, you would find it harder and more expensive to get credit. More businesses would close their doors, and millions of Americans could lose their jobs. Even if you have good credit history, it would be more difficult for you to get the loans you need to buy a car or send your children to college. And ultimately, our country could experience a long and painful recession.

Pat Buchanan paraphrased Paulson this way,

To save the sheep who might have been wiped out in a general financial panic, we may have to save the pigs.

All without using the “R” word.

4 Comments to “I thought we already were in one”

  1. Yeah, we may not technically be in a recession yet, but it sure feels like we are.

  2. I know the feeling, Zach. So what do you think the definition of a recession should be; when we feel like it is? It just seems so subjective to me. I’d like something that wasn’t up to interpretation depending on one’s ideology.

    And I’d like one that tells me now; not 6 months after it’s started.

    Maybe it’s a pipe dream.

  3. Silly boy. It’s a DEPRESSION, dontcha know. It’s a miracle you have cereal and milk in the morning.

    I want to know how to make a cute avatar, BTW.

  4. Cindy, not even the Dems will say the “D” word. Unless they’re trying to blame it on Bush. 🙂

    Avatar? What’s that? 😉

    I really don’t know how to make one. I just found that picture and plugged it in on my profile and Whallah (that’s for capper).

Leave a comment