Favre retires

by thoughtfulconservative

From FOX Sports

The most storied quarterback career in NFL history is coming to a close.The Green Bay Packers have confirmed a story first reported by FOXSports.com that Brett Favre, the NFL’s all-time career passing leader, has decided to retire.

08favre_tribute_800.jpg

Why now? After perhaps his best seaon in a while? Maybe he doesn’t see the team going farther next year. Tougher schedule. More teams gunning for you. Maybe he’s just tire of getting hit.

Some wonder if something else was involved. Who knows? We’ll have to wait and see what comes out.

I thought something was up when Chris Mottram at The Sporting News spotted a page on the Packers web site announcing Favre’s retirement.

And then I saw an interview the last couple of days with Mike McCarthy (I wish I could remember which Milwaukee station did it. Anyone?) where he gave the oddest answer to the retirement question and again I thought something’s up.

I’m not a Packer fan. But #4 was one of my favorite players and I will miss him.

Leave a Reply

