Vote? Or sit out?

by thoughtfulconservative

I’ve been frankly discouraged with the remarks heard on several blogs (and not just Wisconsin) about the future nominee of the Republican party. More than once words to the effect of “If Candidate X is nominated, I’ll sit this one out.”

Now the last thing I want to do is tell someone how or for whom to vote. That’s not me for one, and not American for another.

But convince others that I’m right is something I will always try to do.

I have areas of disagreement with every current and past Republican candidate. I’ve written about that before and I won’t rehash it here.

I don’t disagree with any of them on all points however. This is not true of any of the Democratic candidates. I don’t agree with any of them on anything, I’m pretty sure, or very little.

Now if I vote, that doesn’t guarantee the Republican gets elected. But it gets him closer to being elected than if I didn’t vote.

But if enough people do sit out, the Democrat will get in.

And with a Democratic Congress, more things that I disagree with would be enacted (read Universal Health Care, public financing of campaigns, heck, plug any of the issues on any Democratic candidates web site), than would be enacted with a Republican, yes, even McCain, Huckabee or Giuliani.

But that’s me.

Because my country is too important.

3 Comments to “Vote? Or sit out?”

  1. I will definitely vote! I’ve been extremely disturbed too by the many who have said they won’t vote. That’s the most ridiculous thing I’ve heard from mostly reasonable people!

  2. Well I will definetly be one of those that sit it out.

    It sends an important message when we, the public, can make freedom of choice and choose NOT TO.

    So don’t judge me and I won’t think you are a traitor to the concept of Freedom Of Speech.

  3. Moi? A traitor to the concept of free speech? You’d be hard pressed to find one more in favor.

    And observe in the post,

    Now the last thing I want to do is tell someone how or for whom to vote. That’s not me for one, and not American for another.

    But convince others that I’m right is something I will always try to do.

    You are certainly free to do as you wish, just as I am free to say it’s a mistake.

    What kind of message do you think you’re sending?

Leave a Reply

