Political Fact checking sites

by thoughtfulconservative

Always a tricky process because it depends on your view of the facts, but here are some you may find handy (and will be found in my sidebar):

PoliFact – a new site by the St. Petersburg, FL Times and CQ Politics. Includes articles, the Truth-o-meter, attack file, candidates, our rulings issues and link to the two sponsoring sites.

FactCheck – the Annenberg Fact Check has been around for awhile. It has a feed and an e-mail update available.

techPresident – This site goes to the technical side of fact checking. For example, one recent article looks at exposing Clinton sock puppets.

The Washington Post FactChecker -  This is actually a blog (probably some of the rest could be considered blogs also) among the WaPo’s other blogs.

10 Comments to “Political Fact checking sites”

  1. Things might have changed, but when I lived in St. Pete and Tampa we called the St. Petersburg Times Pravda West.

  2. Heh. I never heard it called that, but it did have a decidedly leftist slant when I lived there also.

  3. I’m looking for a site that will give me legitimate fact-backed political news from a conservative Republican’s or neutral (if that’s even possible) point of view. Are the sites above (polifact, factcheck etc…) sites that fit my criteria? Thank you for your help!

  4. Chloe — try my site, conservativefactcheck.com.

  5. Good Luck… He’s only posted 3 articles, back a couple months ago, and they have nearly no sourcing… Guess facts tend to be a bit less partisan, ne?

  6. Well, i can’t blame folks too much. I have good intentions (like posting every day) and then something comes up… :)

  7. Indeed. I’m left of center on most things (socially, at least), but your blog is, indeed, thoughtful (and not shrill). I’ll keep up with you here :)

  8. Hello – FactCheck used to be conservative, is now quite left-leaning, in my experience and research. The founder was conservative, but after he died, the foundation has become quite liberal – ties to Bill Ayers, etc. I have gone there before, and learned after the fact that their “facts” were not really facts, but more of arguments from the left. So this site will never give the conservative the answers we need. I need a fair conservative site. Don’t know if there is any such thing as a fair nonpartisan site.

  9. Are you kidding me? Three of those four are, like Snopes, hard-left-wing. I don’t know about TechPresident; never heard of it.

    I’m on the same quest. For non-political fact checking (such as about the toilet virus that will bite you on the butt and erase your hard drive if you don’t send ten post cards to little Jimmy who’s dying of Martian flu), I trust — sort of — a StartPage.com search for “urban legend _____”, and I’ll CONSIDER snopes’ opinion if it comes up. For anything involving social policy or politics, I look elsewhere. One good place is MRC.ORG (Media Research Center). Also look at conservative columnists such as Michelle Malkin and Ann Coulter if they come up in the results. I’m sure you’ll find that they make mistakes. They’re only human. At least, I know Ann Coulter is.

    Anyhow, don’t expect anybody to respect what you come up with. The Left believes what it wants to believe. The only chance you have is if you can quote from a mainstream (meaning, leftist) source. And then, it’s only a slim chance because you can plop an entire Obama speach down in front of them and play a video of it, and libs will still accuse you of taking it out of context.

    I’m starting a list of go-to sites on my blog at http://poorhousedad.blogspot.com/2013/01/what-fact-check-sites-do-you-prefer.html . If you think you have a good source, let me and ConservativeThinker know so we can add them to our lists.

    • Malkin or Coulter?????

      Hahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa… :D

      Try fact-checking most of what Coulter says. Malkin is batshit insane, but Coulter is a straight-up lying shock-jock, just trying to make money. You will not have much luck.

      It should tell you something that your own list of checking sites from that link go on and on about the ‘liberal’ media, but you’ll notice none of the same stupid bickering coming from Snopes, or Annenberg (Usually, not even from St. Petersburg). They aren’t going on about conservatism, or conservative media outlets. That’s because Newsbusters and MRC are astroturf sites. They are paid and paid well to knock other sources and keep you in a bubble. The fact that your link mentions the ludicrous claim that George Soros (OHGAWDTHEBOOGEYMAN) owns Snopes tells me all I need to know about your capacity for research.

      I really don’t know why I’m bothering to reply here, though. It should tell you something, perhaps, that the mainstream is *ahem* ‘leftist’. Enjoy your fringe-bubble. Maybe try looking up some of the pies that Fox has its ample thumbs stuck in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,647 other followers

